2022 Awards of Excellence

On Saturday, April 22nd, the Colorado Broadcasters Association (CBA) held their annual Awards of Excellence Gala to recognize Colorado’s best broadcasters and their work in 2022.  Over 400 radio and television broadcasters gathered Saturday evening at the Ritz Carlton Denver to be recognized for their best work.  This year, the CBA received 894 entries (511 from radio, 383 from television). 168 volunteer broadcasters from around the country were assembled into panels to judge all 894 entries.

Kyle Clark of KUSA-TV was recognized with the Harry Hoth Public Service Award for both his excellence in broadcasting as well as his dedication to community service.

Gary Buchanan of Three Eagles Communications of Colorado was recognized with The Rex Howell Broadcaster of the Year Award for his 50+ years of outstanding service to the broadcast industry.

The CBA also recognizes “Stations of the Year” in each market size, using an awards point system that determines the winners, based on the number of Awards (first place) and Certificates (second place) won by each station.  The 2022 “Stations of the Year” were as follows.


  • Small Market: KBVC-FM/Buena Vista
  • Medium Market: KYSL-FM/Frisco
  • Major Market: KKPL-FM/Fort Collins
  • Metro Market: KCFR-FM/Denver


  • Small Market: KKCO-TV/Grand Junction
  • Non-Metro: KOAA-TV/Colorado Springs
  • Metro Market: KUSA-TV/Denver

Visit this LINK to view the CBA’s entire list of Awards and Certificate of Merit recipients.